Most Shared

ABC 6 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

OSU's Miller, Hyde Among 2013 Big Ten Elite

COLUMBUS (Ken Hines) -- Ohio State's heralded backfield has been named the best in the Big Ten for 2013.

Junior quarterback Braxton Miller and Senior running back Carlos Hyde were announced as the conference's top players at their positions on Monday. Both players were also named to Big Ten First Teams by both coaches and media members.

Miller's designation as the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year marks the second consecutive season he has been recognized as the conference's top signal-caller. Miller completed 66 percent of his pass attempts for 1759 yards and 21 touchdowns during the 2013 regular season, despite missing all or most of three games. He also rushed for 891 yards at eight scores.

Hyde was forced to miss the first three games of the season due to a suspension, but took control of the team's rushing attack upon his reinstatement, tallying 1290 yards and 14 touchdowns during the regular season. He found the endzone two additional times through the air.

Joining Miller and Hyde on each conference first team are center Corey Linsley, linebacker Ryan Shazier, and defensive back Bradley Roby. Offensive tackle Jack Mewhort and defensive lineman Noah Spence were named first-teamers by media members.

OSU plays Michigan State for the Big Ten Championship on Saturday in Indianapolis.

Several Buckeyes were named to the conference's second teams and honorable mention lists. Click here for a complete list of the 2013 Big Ten award winners.
Advertise with us!
Sponsored content